Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-06-04 - 9:47 p.m.

Has anyone ever seen the movie "Butterflies are Free" ??? It is such a sweet, sad, beautiful, wonderful movie. It stars the bubbly young Goldie Hawn, and the very handsome Edward Albert. It takes place in the early 70s, so naturally the scenery and clothing are awesome. Edward is playing a young blind man who has just recently started living alone, in spite of his mother's adamant disapproval. Goldie plays his new flaky next door neighbor. They become instantly involved, and before you know it, Edward's meddling mother sticks her Oscar-winning nose in the middle of their relationship. I'm not going to spoil the end for anyone who hasn't seen it. It would definitely be worth hunting down at the video store. Or keep your eye tuned to Bravo, they might play it again soon.

It reminds me of a song by Elgin Park called Crush '78, which is about a guy who had a crush on his friend's mom when they were little, and then years later, he runs into her at the grocery store. There's a line "...and your mom was more beautiful than young Goldie Hawn." I totally relate with that, because I have always thought she was just so beautiful and sweet. Not that I am alone in this opinion, of course, but it was nice to hear it voiced in a song. And whenever I watch any of her old movies, I am just blown away.

So I had a really insane week. Met a guy, had a great & intense 3-day weekend thing, and then I dumped him Friday night. I feel like shit about it too, but it just had to be done. There's much more to it, and more crazy stories to go along with the rest of the week. Let's just say I wish I could erase the whole week. And I don't intend to go out to bars and get drunk and behave carelessly for quite some time.

I made an interesting dinner tonight. Potato and zucchini quesedilla with guacamole, salsa, and sour cream. It was quite delicious. This morning's breakfast was really good too. I am totally getting into the fresh fruit/granola/yogurt combo thing. It's delicious, nutritious, and fills me up 'til lunch. I really wish I could give up meat entirely, but it's not happening yet. I have, however, given up turkey bologna. I tried to "fry" it the other day (i.e., put in skillet with Pam), and it mutated into something so non-organic and creepy, I almost didn't even give it to Penel! When it was done, it was the texture of clay and had gotten rings like a tree, and had these puffy "boils" on it. It was so nasty, I wanted to throw the pan away!

Speaking of gross food things, and because it is relevant to yet another common topic around here, let me briefly relate this story. Thom and I went to eat at Bangkok Cuisine Friday night. I ordered iced-tea, and when I stirred it, a roach floated to the top. I alerted the waiter, and hesitantly awaited a replacement. I checked the glass first, and sure enough, there was half of a roach at the bottom. He suggested that he would give me a free drink, and I suggested that I was grossed out, and we left. I wanted to warn the people coming in the door as we were leaving. And the girl at the table next to us looked very worried. The thing is, it was those little German bastards, and you know, when there is 1 of those, there are 1,000,000.

Well, I guess I've said everything I needed to say tonight. Adios.

song of the day: Woman is the Nigger of the World John Lennon

penelope fact: Today she is not wearing her ruff. She looks funny nude.

something queer: Not having a blank tape ready when your fave movie comes on.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Check out Steadman!