Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-05-30 - 10:10 a.m.

Yesterday in traffic, I got caught by a train. I�ve been getting caught by a lot of trains lately, which wouldn�t be so bad except they are crossing major intersections during rush hour, and that is totally illegal. At least yesterday�s train brought some amusement along with its annoyance. Several cars in a row were carrying large red pipes, probably 2 feet in diameter. Clearly marked in several places on each pipe were the words DO NOT HUMP.

I decided that today was a very Sparks day. I sure do love them. Granted they may seem a bit weird and goofy to the virgin ear, but beneath the oft-silly lyrics, highfalutin instrumentation, and simulated sneezes, lie some of the most spine tinglingly, gut wrenchingly, beautiful songs in the world. The moral of this story is that if you are reading this and you are a music lover not yet familiar with Sparks, the very least you could do is go download an MP3 or two. And by the way, �Cool Places,� their 80�s duet with Jane �the only cool Go-Go� Wiedlen doesn�t count.

Saturday night, I am going to see Peter Murphy at the House of Blues. I wasn�t originally planning to, but then someone asked me to go. I�ve seen him several times, and he never disappoints. Even though I don�t have his new album, I read about it and it sounds good. Apparently, he has finally reached that east meets west perfect fusion he�s been trying so hard to capture for years. Should see all the Goths out in full force. That�s always worth the trip!

For those of you awaiting my latest roach update, you might enjoy this story. Last Friday, I hosted another of my famous spontaneous dinner parties. Ashley and I cooked an enormous mound of fried eggplant, Eve made a delicious salad, and I made some awesome Portobello and Sun-Dried Tomato pasta. Originally, I was only going to cook for Thom and me, but then Ashley announced that she would be arriving that evening. Wherever there�s Ashley, there�s a party, so� Well after the festivities died down, the last few remaining people were sitting on the porch playing a game. I had my back facing the open door of my house, and naturally, something fluttery flew into my back. After a brief panic, I asked Dax what it was, and he said it was just a moth. I believed him until moments later, a roach crawled by his foot. Maybe it really was a moth. But I doubt it. I saw another one last night walking slowly, looking like it was ready to lay an egg (bleeeeech!). Even though it was outside, I had to spray it anyway. I think if I were granted 10 wishes, one of them would be that all roaches would cease to exist. Honestly, do they serve ANY purpose at all? I don�t think so.

Which is my most terrifying roach encounter?
finding dead roach under mattress
roach crawling on my neck while driving
roach crawling on arm while sleeping
mysterious roach poo death trails all over my bathroom
9 roaches to kill in one night after being out of town
thinking a roach flew at my mouth, run, slip, & slide, but it was only a june bug
ceiling roach's kamikaze dive bomb at me
watching a roach egg bounce in the early stages of hatching

View Results

song of the day: Amateur Hour Sparks

penelope fact: SHe was scared of the thunder last night. But not too scared to eat some pork chop scraps.

something queer: cramps from hell

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Check out Steadman!