Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-12-15 - 12:40 p.m.

I am supercool! Here's why...

This morning, I was awoken by a loud explosion. I looked at the clock and it wasn't on. Clearly a transformer had blown. (i.e., BBQ Squirrel). So I set my cell phone's alarm to wake me up at 7:20. When I got up, the power was still off. I went into the bathroom and flipped the light switch. Duh, I knew the power was out, but it's habitual and I was half asleep. So I let the dogs out and my mind turned to breakfast. Lately, the cold weather has made me want to eat oatmeal or Malt-O-Meal (yes, I eat that!), but it was out of the question this morning. Then I remembered the leftover Dominos Cinnastix in the fridge. Jackie and her new boyfriend came over last night and we ordered pizza. We were too full to eat most of the Cinnastix, so she told me to keep them. Of course they wouldn't have been any good freezing cold, but my Virgoan ingenuity quickly solved that problem. I wrapped them in foil and threw them down on the floor furnace for 15 minutes. Soon, I had a delicious hot breakfast! I am so darn clever, I love it.

So I am listening to 80's internet radio again, and they are playing entirely too much Cure for me. I've never liked them, which was an issue amongst some of my friends in highschool. But Robert Smith is just so completely annoying! Especially that damn "Love Cats" which was just on. I did hear a really great old song though that I haven't heard since the days of my college radio tapes. "In Shreds" by the Chameleons. Back when I was a wee lassie of 14, I used to sit in my room for hours on end drawing my "fashions" and listening to WTUL, always prepared to tape songs I liked. I had an impressive collection of tapes, and was into all the most obscure and alternative music of the time. That's back when "Alternative" actually MEANT alternative.

I had this ESPRIT tote bag that I used as my bookbag at school. I wrote the names of every cool band I ever heard of all over it, because naturally that's how I let people know how majorly ultra super cool I was. In fact, I made one of my oldest best friends because of that bag. Aimee was aghast that I had JAPAN written on it - in bigger lettering than most, because they were my favorite band back then. They were also her fave, and no one else our age had the faintest clue who they were. We bonded about that and never looked back.

The best band on my bag though was a band called Neshvie. They sang this song on one of my WTUL tapes that was pretty cool. No one had ever heard of Neshvie besides me, so I must have been unbelievably hip. Or unbelievably retarded, because as it turns out, the DJ was a stutterer and what he was really saying was "Ministry." I didn't figure that out for years, because the song was from their older new wavey days which I didn't even know existed until way later. To me, Ministry was just always industrial and could never have sung that song. Ahh, those are the things that make life so hilarious.

Another one of those things that make life so hilarious is the new Cingular commercial with the sasquatch. He's taunting a guy in the woods because he doesn't have a camera and no one will believe him that he saw Bigfoot, but then the guy pulls out his camera phone and takes a picture and shows it to him. It's awesome! Sasquatch humor is the best!

And go see Elf if you're thinking about it. It's hilarious.

Ooooh, "Suddenly Last Summer" is on! I heart the Motels. They are so awesome for karaoke.

p.s. my new cell phone is better than yours :p

song of the day: Making Plans for Nigel - XTC

penelope fact: She nearly took off a few fingers when I tried to pick a flea off her tummy. Guess she wanted to keep him.

something queer: that new chinese rapper Jin who actually calls himself a "Chinaman" in his song.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Check out Steadman!