Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-07-23 - 9:48 a.m.

Last night, I saw the best movie on Sundance. It's called "My First Mister," and stars Leelee Sobieski as a goth teen and Albert Brooks as her unlikely new (and only) best friend. Christine Lahti directed it, which was appealing to me, because I really like her. Even though I ordinarily don't care too much for Leelee, it seems she was born to play a goth teen, 'cos she looks the part and did it so well. By the end of the movie, I'd cried several times. It would have been one extended cry, but I was repeatedly interrupted by Daisy May who was trying to sneak off with my colored pencils.

I tell her not to chew them, but she's a big fan of the chewing. Phonebooks, newspapers, mail - whatever's handy. I keep a supply of rawhides around for her, but for her, it's more a case of chew the one you're with. That means, come bedtime, she's chewing herself. I'm not just whining because she scratches a little. Penelope gets up and leaves the room because she shakes the bed so vigorously. I tell her repeatedly - bed is a slug-free zone and a chew-free zone. (Once, she got in the bed with a small slug dangling from her belly) But she doesn't take it to heart. Well, the slug thing, yeah. But she's driving me bonkers with the scratching and the chewing and the fleagling and the panting!

When I'm tired, which I have been lately thanks to someone's blatant disregard of the recent chew-free zone legislation, I have these flashbacks. I have no idea what I'm flashing back to. Perhaps it's not even a flashback at all. Maybe I'm flashing forward! Or flashing in place. That would be weird, huh? Maybe it's connected somehow to my psychic abilities. I can never hang on to the visions long enough to catch them and keep them - but when they are happening, I'm thinking "Ohhhhh yeahhhhh!" Today be one of those days.

I *heart* 80's internet radio stations! 'Cos on my own 80's mixes, I'll put the same old things, but with these stations, I hear some things I wouldn't have thought of otherwise. Not that "Walking in LA" is one of those songs, but I heard it today and it made me very excited because not only is the keyboard part so quintessentially 80's and totally awesome, but with any luck, I'll be walking in LA in the near future. Yea! Plans are in the works. Just need a lil good fortune in some departments.

Monday night, Jackie, Eve and I went to see "Pirates of the Caribbean," and though it hardly needs pointing out, I will anyway: Johnny Depp is a stone foxxx! Good looks aside, however, he's such an incredible actor, and always picks the best roles. I heart JD. When I was on my way out the door, Daisy May looked very sad that she couldn't accompany me, so this is what I told her: "I'm sorry honey, but they don't let dogs go to the movies. Why don't you and Penel play 'Pirates of the Caribbean' while I'm gone. Penel can be Johnny Depp, and you can be Orlando!" She just stared at me blankly, but I now realize it's because she was thinking Penel would be better as Orlando, because she, a.k.a. "Crazy May" would be much more suited to play the insane Jack Sparrow character. And she was right. What can I say?

song of the day: How Soon is Now the Smiths

penelope fact: She makes such a good role model, if only MDM would take a lesson or 5!

something queer: deluded fools, interlopers, flakes, and Ryan Seacrest's deviated septum

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Check out Steadman!