Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-05-28 - 11:20 a.m.

Goosepants Proudly Presents:

Miss Daisy May!

Will you scratch my tummy?

Everyone, I want you to meet the latest addition to my household. I saved her sweet little life via an ad on this website. In fact, this is the picture from the site. This coming weekend, I promise to take more photos of her for you all to see.

I know you are wondering why on earth I would get another dog when Penel is obviously the most special, beautiful, princess bunny-pie in the world. Be that as it may, I still had enough love to share with someone as sweet and needy as Miss Daisy May. I took the Queen with me when I went to retrieve Miss May, and she was unprecedentedly calm and well-behaved the whole way back home. She has yet to extend a paw in friendship, but she's been acting appropriately. No picking fights or displays of dominance (though god only knows what happens when I'm at work). I think Daisy wants to be friends with Penel, but I guess it's just hard to win her love when you're just a lowly beast. Penel does think she's a person, you know. She'll come around though. As if she has a choice!

They are both jealous, and want to be the sole recipient of my attention. But whereas Miss P just sulks when I am playing with Daisy May, MDM comes over and demands affection when I am trying to spend some QT with Penelope. Her favorite thing is a tummy rub, and she'll just roll right over for you if she thinks she stands a chance. And if she's extra-excited, she'll curl her back end up like a little Doodlebug!

Miss Daisy might look a little smaller and thinner than she is in the photo. She's about 20-22 lbs, and chunky. Like Sadie, she's a low-rider. But she doesn't let that stop her from jumping up on things. Or jumping off things... Sunday, at the crawfish boil, she climbed up my lap onto the table, across the table where she grabbed not only a piece of venison sausage, but the styro-plate it was sitting on. She turned around, plate and sausage en mouth, knocked over 2 full beer bottles, and plummetted to the ground. Unfazed by the 3-foot drop onto concrete, she contentedly dashed to a spot in the grass to enjoy her sausagey prize.

Her favorite place is on my lap. And if my lap isn't convenient at the time, as close to me as she can be is where you'll find her. This morning, she sat next to me on the vanity bench as I was putting on makeup. If I have to pee, Daisy May wants to be with me. If I get up for a beverage, she can't stay on the couch. When they coined the term "follows you around like a puppy dog," they must have been talking about Miss Daisy.

Here's the sad news. I think she has heartworms. In fact, only with X-Ray vision could I be more sure. Her little heart beats so fast, and she gets winded very easily. Every now and then, I'll catch her on a little wheezing spree. Fortunately, she's young (approx. 2), so I'm hoping she'll be able to withstand the treatment successfully. We're going to get that together this week.

Please keep her in your thoughts, but I'm sure she'll beat those old worms!

song of the day: She - Elvis Costello

penelope fact: Awww, I still love Penel the most. But we have enough love to share!

something queer: Thunderstorm sounds playing in the Winn Dixie produce department whenever the misters come on.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Check out Steadman!