Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2003-01-14 - 9:35 a.m.

R.I.P. Maurice Gibb

At least he's with Andy now, harmonizing in falsetto.

Amazing New Discovery Alert

I know I'm not the first ever, but I'm the first I know to want all of you people to know about Thicke . This guy is Alan Thicke's son, Robin! Which in and of itself is enough to make you curious. But he's no Kirk Cameron - that's fer sher. How did I discover him?

You know that Gateway commercial where some guy is complaining that he'd rather work from home today because he spends too much time at the office? Well in the background, they are playing this song "I'ma be alright..." and for the last few weeks I've kept finding it stuck in my head. Well finally, I found out what it was and downloaded it. It's a really awesome song. Very blue-eyed soul, as they say. So I figured that the rest of his stuff might be equally appealing.

I'm stupider than I look

So I downloaded a bunch of it after reading the artist description on his web page , which tossed around words like "nu" and "ghettofabulous" with reckless abandon. I am STUNNED that someone with such alleged credentials (see his site for proof) spent two years, and all he could come up with was this . The thing is, what you hear there, that is the entire song! It's like he came up with a good riff and that was all he needed. No chorus, no bridge, no variation - just the same verse over and over and over. For instance, "Brand New Jones" goes someting like this: I've got a brand new jones/when my baby's not home/I only wanna be alone/I got a brand new jones... over and over and over - the only variation in the way he sings the lines each time. What kind of shit did Alan put in his kid's food when he was growing up? Honestly, that little bit would work FINE if integrated into the rest of the song but there IS NO rest of the song. The only complete song is the one I liked from the Gateway commercial.

This quote might be telling: "Thicke is my new favorite band" -- Carson Daly.

The guy's got a good voice, and he's not afraid to use it. And he's really hot in a dirty hitch hiker kinda way. But his music just leaves me laughing, and wanting more. I suppose it's "nu ghettofabulous," but what do I know?

So let's give it up one more time for Brother Mo! R.I.P. man. (guess he was sick of stayin' alive)

song of the day: B Alright - Thicke

penelope fact: She was a little bit constipated this morning. I don't think she ever did it.

something queer: Forgetting to drink my hot tea and remembering it only once it's cool.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Check out Steadman!