Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-09-30 - 11:09 a.m.

It�s been a long time since I�ve updated, sorry folks. Since you�ve last heard from me, there�s been some big stuff going on with me. For starters, I turned 31. Now I am officially �thirtysomething.� It�s no better or worse than I thought. Well, other than the fact that the cute young boys are staying cute and young and still looking at me like someone they might address as �Ma�am.�

I also made a really wonderful new friend; however, as is all too often the case with me, he lives very far away so I will probably never actually get to meet him. But he sent me the most amazing CD for my birthday, so that counts for something. Also, he totally appreciates me and my sense of humor and all my music stuff. I love finding people who �get� me. Not that I rely on them to validate my self worth, but it is always very nice to find kindred spirits.

Most recently, and definitely most shockingly, I was involved in an armed robbery this weekend. Jackie and I went into a neighborhood bar in a seemingly safe part of the suburbs � just for one quick drink after going to the movies. Well, we had not been in there 2 minutes before some crackhead came in and announced that it was a robbery. He started shooting, and purposefully shot a young female bartender in the hip. The other bartender gave him $3000 out of the register, and he said it wasn�t enough and demanded the customers to give him their money. I had already stuffed all my valuables down my pants, but I took out the cash to give him when he got to our end of the bar.

Meanwhile, some guy decided to make a run for the back door, and the gunman shot at him twice. He didn�t get hit, but the Juke Box did. I was just 6 feet away from the Juke Box. Had his angle been 5 degrees off, Jackie or I might have gotten shot. At least he was shooting low. After that, he told everyone to get down, which we did, and he left. He never did make it to our end, so we didn�t lose anything. Unsure if he had really left, Jackie and I darted to the bathroom, where a girl pulled us into her stall. She had been in there when it started, and was calling 911 on her cell phone. She told us to get up on the seat and hide, which we did. We told her about the bartender getting shot, and apparently it was her good friend, so she ran out crying. After a few minutes, we felt brave enough to emerge, only to discover the cops had arrived and were investigating the bullet hole in the bathroom door! The girl in there could have gotten shot too!

The cops kept us there for nearly 3 hours interviewing and re-interviewing everyone. The bartender�s injury was not critical, thank god, and the paper yesterday listed her as being in fair condition. But you know, we saw the guy outside before we even went in. We both thought he looked sort of suspicious, but what do you do? Imagine though, if we had caught a red light, or just taken 3 more minutes to get there, and walked in as it was happening, he probably would have shot us just for startling him. Thank god no one died. And how horrible for that poor girl to have to live with that memory for the rest of her life. I know I feel traumatized and I wasn�t shot!

This is the fourth crime I have had committed against me, and I am REALLY getting sick of it. For those of you who read my May Entry about the crackhead who stole my purse, you know what I am talking about. I�ve had a few days to let the rage subside, but I am no less furious. I am SICK of being victimized and terrorized in my city. As Jackie said, I�m about ready to pick up and move to Montana. I�m also ready to turn Charles Bronson on these crackheads� asses.

song of the day: la fox - babasonicos

penelope fact: once after a long walk, she plopped down in a clover patch and wouldn't get up. i had to carry her home!

something queer: getting shot at

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Check out Steadman!