Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-08-15 - 10:47 a.m.

I took my nephew CD shopping the other day, and amongst my purchases was the new David Bowie CD, Heathen. I was anxious to hear it, as it has garnered some decent reviews, and I was impressed with his last album, Hours. I can�t say my socks were blown off, but it is indeed a good listen. Perhaps 17 more rounds will make me fall in love with it. Somehow though, I doubt it. David Bowie has aged a thousand times more gracefully than most of his peers, but through the years, he has developed a tendency to croon. Sure he�s always leaned a little bit in that direction, but now, he has fully ascended to the heights of croondom, and now rarely leaves that territory. I realize that at his age, he would probably sound more than a bit foolish shouting and yelping like Ziggy Stardust, the Thin White Duke, or even Halloween Jack. Understandable. However, he will need a new persona to go with his sleek, refined yet creepy, not entirely un-slithery, crooner image. I hereby nominate David Bowie to be henceforth known as Croony the Glamphibian.

So I have recently been pondering the unusual love I have for brothers in bands. Julie has recently turned me on to Oasis in a manner I hadn�t been previously. I�m glad she did, as they are absolute crack-ups, not to mention amazingly talented � and hey, Liam�s pretty easy on the eyes, which is always a plus. Now, we should all take a moment of silence to thank whom or whatever we want to thank that Noel�s recent car crash was not as serious as it could have been ����������������.I never really planned to get into brother bands, but it seems that it�s happened that way regardless. Below is my top 10+ list of my fave brothers in bands in poll form so the kids can play along at home! Feel free to vote as many times as you want!

Who are your favorite brothers on this list?
Jeff & Steve McDonald (Redd Kross)
Noel & Liam Gallagher (Oasis)
Lon & Derek VanEaton
David Sylvian & Steve Jansen (Japan)
Taylor, Ike, and Zac Hanson (Hanson)
Ron & Russell Mael (Sparks)
Dennis, Carl, & Brian Wilson (The Beach Boys)
Trevor & Orin Thornton (Flick)
Jay & Michael Aston (Gene Loves Jezebel)
Kevin Haskins & David J (Bauhaus)
Ray & Dave Davies (The Kinks)

View Results

song of the day: My Sister Lover Oasis

penelope fact: Poor baby's heart cough has been acting up lately. Please keep her in your thoughts.

something queer: French-Fry Po-Boys. I've never understood them.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Check out Steadman!