Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-05-10 - 10:58 a.m.

After further discussion regarding the Abercrombie & Fitch assholes, or as it was put to me �Neanderthals,� I�ve got to amend the previous entry as such. Yes, Neanderthals are bad, but hip scenesters are worse. You know which ones I�m talking about. The punk, glam, goth, emo, mod-abillies who just dress the part and act the part because it�s SO FUCKING HIP. Back in my day, we called them poseurs, but I don�t know if anyone still uses that word. In any case, the reason they are worse is because they think they are better. As the pal I was discussing this with noted, �You listen to Neanderthal conversations, and it�s like all you hear is �doo doo duh doodie dah doh doo.�� And you know something, he�s got a point. The poseurs, however, try SO hard to fit in with other members of their genre of choice, and you know 97% of them are faking it. By doing that, they look down their noses at everyone else, and they come off like such wankers! It really just makes them look more idiotic, because I don�t feel left out from their little worlds.

I�m not hurt. I�m not jealous. I just roll my eyes and thank god I have my own personality and my own identity. I�m not afraid to admit that I am a huge geek that�s been to a Whitesnake concert - I was a BIG fan. I even caught Adrian Vandenburg's pick! I watch Buffy the Vampire Slayer, hell, I watch ROSWELL! I love Xanadu and Kajagoogoo and dogs and my family and I fall all the time! I do retarded dances and make up stupid songs for my dog and I can kick your ass in Scrabble. I give out heavy metal trading cards as tips! There�s not a genre out there that could box me in, and if there were, I wouldn�t want to be a part of it. That�s not to say I am a snob in my own right. If someone proves to me that they are a good person and I enjoy talking to them, fine. I�ve got good friends from ALL walks of life � from Christians to Pagans, from Straight-Edgers to reprobates � Rich and poor, young and old. I just wanted to clarify that I am not exclusive about my friends. I really just pity the self-unaware. To me, self-awareness is one of the most important qualities a person can have.

Anyway, to change gears for a sec, last night was the Brendan Benson show at the Parish, which was really good, except, there were like, 15 people there! There were even less for opening act Peter Holsapple, who I am a huge fan of as well. He was wearing a T-Shirt that said I ♥ Lakeview. How awesome! For those of you that don�t know, that�s my neighborhood, and I ♥ it too! I asked him where he got it, and he told me, so I might have to go get one.

I wanted to say more about how much I amuse myself when I am hungover � functionally hungover to be specific. There�s nothing funny about lying around on the couch all day wanting to die. But my mind has moved on to greater concerns. There�s this new place across the street called Crabby Jack�s � which admittedly is a gay ass name, but it happens to be owned by one of the most genius chefs in the city (the guy that owns Jacques-Imo�s), so it is quite the tasty little po-boy joint. Problem is, what to get? Last time, I had a fried shrimp po-boy and it was great, but I have been craving a roast-beef po-boy for a long long time. However, the fried chicken there is famous for it�s awesomeness, and that sounds super-delish as well. What to do? What to do?

For the record, I am wearing my 5th grade hair-do today. That would be parted on the side in two up & down ponytails. However, back then, I tied those fun shoelaces that were all the rage in them. You know, the ones with the ice cream cones and balloons and rainbows...

song of the day: El Tiempo Se Va I Zurdok

penelope fact: she is very smart; however, she is not very wise.

something queer: My Lunch Quandary!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Check out Steadman!