Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-05-08 - 9:41 a.m.

My GOD could I BE more of a spazz? I thought my falling phase dried up last year - there were 5 major ones, the most painful of which was the tailbone buster I pulled in Italy. Some of them have been written about in the past Click Here And Here to read about some. But just now, I totally wiped out again! I tripped over a box on the floor of my office - stubbing my toe, and I don't know quite how it happened, but I caught myself on the wall for a second (and managed to push the paneling through at the seam), went down on my knee, rolled over to the opposite ass cheek and got a brushburn on the hand that wasn't the one to land on the wall. In the process, I twisted my neck and back. I'm gonna be hurting for a few days. Was I some nasty man in my past life that liked to push people down for no reason? Is that why I am working off this strange falling karma? I try really hard not to be a klutz, but I just am. It's strange, I can turn off light switches with my toe while standing on one foot and balancing a hot plate of food in one hand and a full glass in the other, but I can't walk a straight line from my desk to the door.

So I was telling this story not long ago, and my audience agreed that I should write about it here. When I was 16, I saw David Bowie on the Glass Spiders Tour. Someone's dad had connections, so we were able to get front row tickets at the Superdome. There was a moment during the show, where he was perusing the people up against the stage, looking for JUST THE RIGHT ONE to grab and hold hands with. Well, guess who was that lucky gal! You got it, Miss Brace Face herself. I was TOTALLY freaking out, natch. Other people were trying to touch him, but after a few seconds, he just pulled his arm right back up and didn't touch anyone else. *Swoon* Apparently the guy standing next to me was equally impressed - he turned to me and said "He touched YOU!!!" I didn't even know the guy. So after the show, my friend Debbie asked a roadie to hand her one of the cups of iced tea that Bowie had been drinking out of on stage. She ran up to us, "Look! I have David Bowie's Iced Tea!" I asked if she drank any, and she replied with a somewhat freaked out "NO!" So I said I would, and I grabbed it and took a swig. Of course it was passed around amongst our group after that, but I got the first sip. I told my mom the next day and her response was, "What if you get AIDS!" Of course, this was the mid-80s when regular people were still unsure of how it could be transmitted.

That reminds me of the Robert Plant and Jimmy Page stories. I was just being groomed for all the band luck I would come into later in life. I'll have to tell those tales at a later date. My arm is hurting after the fall. Too much typing.

Well, got to go hunt down some advil or something...

song of the day: �Cu�ntos pasos? Zurdok

penelope fact: She needs to be tranquilized during bad storms. She looks so cute when she's flopsy.

something queer: That I was misled to believe that the theme from Ed was by the Foo Fighters when it's really Clem Snide! Every week

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Check out Steadman!