Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-03-20 - 11:20 a.m.

Ouch, paying back the credit cards with my tax return, just like I promised I would, was a very painful process. I really liked knowing that I had a lot of money in my checking account. But my trip to LA was much more pleasant than writing those checks was painful, so I�d say I got a fair break. And wouldn�t you know I simply HAD to order both Jumbo CDs online yesterday. I sure do know how to burn a hole in my pocket, don�t I?

I worked on another painting last night. It�s coming along well, but is a slight departure from my usual style. I�m not sure where to take it next. But I know it needs more work. I wish I had the time, space, and inspiration to paint something HUGE, but at this point, it�s really not practical. Besides, good things come in small packages. *grins hugely*

In fact, that was the moral of a really funny story. A few years ago, I went antiquing with my mom and 2 of my sisters. One of the places we went was celebrating its 3-year anniversary with door prizes. They called my number over the PA, and I got to choose from a box of goodies all wrapped in brown paper. Naturally, I searched for the biggest item I could find. Before I opened it, my sister warned me, �You know, good things come in small packages,� but naturally, I had to take the big one. I opened it up, and to my complete horror, I was holding the most hideous candleholder in the world. It was in the shape of a 1-quart old country jug (you know, the kind that is marked XXX and holds moonshine; you might see �Pappy� holding one). Only the front was cut out, and it was painted cornflower blue and eggshell. It was so ugly, and I was so disappointed. So after we left the next antique shop, I got the beast out of the car and left it on a table outside the door.

La la la. Time passes, my sisters still tease me about the �milk-jug candleholder� (as it�s come to be known), and I eventually forget all about it.

Christmas day, I am opening my presents, and I find one last overlooked one from my mom. I open the box, and imagine my surprise when I see what�s inside! That damn ugly piece of crockery! Apparently, a few weeks later, my mom returned to the store where I left it to see if it was still there. Sure enough, it was, and the guy had been saving it on the side should its rightful owner return to claim it. I can�t believe she kept the secret that long. But ever since, it has become a joke to pass it around on holidays to family members who are in on the joke. It was last sent to my brother in law in Italy, so I guess we�ll never see it again.

Anyway, that�s about all I have to say for today except that I love Zurdok. Oh, and get this, they took all my free cable away! Now I only get what I pay for. When I turned on MTVS the other day, and there was a message informing me I didn�t have access to that channel, my heart just sank and I almost cried. Thank god it�s less than $3 a month for the Telelatina package. I promptly called and ordered it. I can�t LIVE without my MTVS!

Lastly, Sadie is a pig and she eats all of Penelope�s food. I let her though because her world has been turned topsy-turvey these last couple of months. Plus she�s old and blind and chews through steel. You should see her snaggleteeth!

song of the day:

penelope fact:

something queer:

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Check out Steadman!