Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

2002-02-07 - 4:22 p.m.

Hey Mike - the title of this entry is for you... (you can only see it if you click "Older" though).

So, when Mike and Skye were visiting last week, he put on a CD, and to my complete surprise, it was Mike Patton and Friends doing some freaky slow version of "Sex (I'm a...)" by Berlin. That made me want to break out "Pleasure Victim" again after all this time. Don't get me wrong, I HAVE heard it a billion times since the 80's, but it's probably been a few years. As cheesy as it is, it is just SO awesome. And it's not a nostalgia thing either. It has that amazing quality I love so much. I've tried a trillion times to figure out what it is exactly. Leonard from the Dickies told me it was "thirds," which made sense at the time, but it's really a sad manic urgency that punches me in the gut, and makes me want to jump up and do a dance not unlike that Flashdance thing - where in the video they just show her feet all jumping back and forth really fast. You know what I mean, eh?

ANYWAY, I just want to say, I love "Pleasure Victim," and for those of you who are unfamiliar with it, it would be at least worth a download if not a purchase. I tell you, audiogalaxy.com ROCKS and has all the downloads you'll ever want.

So, when I was 12, someone left her copy of "Pleasure Victim" on a chair in the living room of my house. Dumb move - my Dad found it and was livid after he read the lyrics - which trust me are VERY VERY dirty, and not in a subtle way. Naturally, I pointed my finger at the guilty party. Well it WASN'T mine! Nevermind the fact that I had my own taped copy, to which I sang along with EVERY FILTHY WORD...

I love the 80's.

So my sister is turning 40 this year, and is planning an 80's themed costume/karaoke party. I am SO EXCITED and just praying that the CDs she gets have more than just Richard Marx and Starship.

Does anyone have any costume ideas for me? I have a Madonna costume already, but that's who my sister wanted to be, and it IS her party. And she is already a blonde, and my hair is red these days. The obvious thought was Cyndi Lauper, but I won't shave a grid on one side. Of course, I want the exact outfit from the "Girls Just Wanna Have Fun" video, but where in god's name am I going to get a vintage red corset? Actually, my dream has always been to be one of the chicks from the "I Ran" video. The ones that look like they are wearing garbage bags.

Okay, I'm sure you are all thinking what a hideously boring entry this has been. And you'd probably be right. But I don't really care, now do I.

See you next time...

...on Kid's Beat!

Love,

Audra Lee

song of the day:

penelope fact:

something queer:

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Check out Steadman!